The Slime Begins

Here is the deal. David decides to deride me for publishing  what someone else wrote in the comment section of my blog and the slime has now begun. Honestly I debated in my mind whether to allow the comment. It was a below the belt comment from “Joshua” and was unwise on my part to publish it.

I sincerely meant no harm to Davis. I understand when a church situation turns ugly and it hurts. I suspect even now the pain of the situation still stings. To Rick Davis I sincerely apologize.

Now, Montoya has published my church address and phone number.  He is trying to drag my congregation into this mess and that for me is hitting below the belt. My blog is my blog and not the churches blog.  So lay off David!!

I just got home and found a nasty anonymous message on my answering machine. Is that what you intended?  Are your supporters and followers that low?

2 Responses to “The Slime Begins”

  1. joshua Says:

    I did not intend for you to be victimized by my comment, but that only validates the truth of what I wrote

    “Below the belt?” Nobody seems interested in our congregations’ experience with Rick Davis. Our viewpoint is universally ignored while he takes multiple cheap shots at us. Pastoral abuse makes congregations the silent victim.

    I will not attempt to victimize you further. I will go back to rejoicing that we have a new pastor and that everyone is happier for it.

  2. Confused Texas Baptist Says:

    Hey there:

    Honestly, I think you must be talking about another person. That doesn’t sound like the Rick D I know and have observed over the years. Are you confused @ the pastor to whom you are referring? What basis and grounds are you making these comments?

    Now, let’s change gears: What are some of the aspects of your new pastor that make him so wonderful? Seriously, as pastors we could all learn from the positive qualities of others. I’d like to hear what he does that is so wonderful so I can apply the traits to my life and ministry. Also, please remember that the new guy / pastor is just — the new guy! He is still the new man on the field… still living in the church’s honeymoon era (as it is called in church pastoral life! Ha) So, give him some time, and if he is like most other pastors who seek to serve God, there will be those who crucify him, too. As a matter of fact, I predict over time people will start talking about how great his predecessor (Rick D) was… LOL! Trust me, the longer the new guy is there, the better the old guy(s) becomes. You know what I mean? It is the “Grass is greener BACK THERE and LAST YEAR syndrome.” The longer the new guy is there, the more enemies he develops…. sad but true. And the longer he is there, the more folks he will upset, offend, and disappoint. How do I know this? I know because I have been there, too, as a pastor.

    But, please do all you can to love your new pastor and treat him as God would want. It’ll make it all better in the end and as time progresses. If all churches did this as the Bible leads, I am convinced we would have much less pastoral turnover.

    So, again I ask — are you sure you are talking about the same Rick D I know?

    Godspeed.

Leave a comment