Texas Baptist Blues Brothers

It must be convention time, Montoya is plugging Lowrie for President. He seems to do so with no apologies. At the same time he will complain that Texas Baptist Committed shouldn’t do so. After all, Montoya seems to have the ear of more people than Currie does, or so he claims. So what is good for the goose— well you know the phrase.

Between Montoya and Davis, they have and will continue to point out the sins of the “building”. Davis, having been a part of the “building” for a period of time, is an insider who tells story after story of abuse. Admittedly, he was, if his stories are true, treated poorly. But then there are always two sides to a story and alas we have only heard his side.

So now we have the “blues brothers” lamenting the horrors of the “building”, while championing certain individuals whom they deem worthy of consideration for placement. I don’t doubt that the individuals they mention are good people.

So now, those in leadership are now called fundamentalist of the left. Wow, that is a very serious charge. Talk about hitting below the belt. Have they become like the current secular political arena and fallen into the gutter? Are they no worst, with using the internet to “advertise” candidates and harshly criticize others?

I have no doubt that the blues brothers and their “followers” are well intentioned people. I know they have the good of the BGCT at heart. My concern is that they imply that those currently in the building, no actually they say it, that they don’t care about the BGCT and the churches. They have already deeply criticized the new Executive and called him an insider and linked him to supposed nefarious groups and people.

The blues brothers are the McCarthyites of Texas Baptist. If you are so much as seen within the shadow of a member of the TBC, then you are part of that group and are evil incarnate. If you don’t support and endorse Lowrie, then you must be one of “them”.  Please understand, I aint got a thing whatever against Lowrie. I have met him and think he is a Godly man who truly desires the best for the BGCT.  He may be the best thing for the BGCT. But then again I don’t really know.

So who is calling the kettle black? If I contribute or support the TBC, then I guess to the blues brothers I am not worthy. If I don’t support the SBC, then am I a liberal? If I push a particular secular party more than another, shame on me.  Have we been reduced to catergorizing people according to “affiliations” and not to Christ?

I pray that at the convention all of the “secular” politics that has been pulled into the BGCT will fall by the wayside and the name of Christ is lifted high. That our common vision of reaching the lost for Christ will prevail. May His name be glorified.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment